The Whoniverse
Home Discontinuity UNIT Files Newbies Guide History Biography Reviews Characters Forum Links

The Discontinuity Guide
The New Adventures

 -  Chapter title in Love and War

In 1995, Paul Cornell, Martin Day, and Keith Topping published The Discontinuity Guide, a guide to all sorts of things about the TV series Doctor Who. Following this, an excellent website called The DiscContinuity Guide has provided the same kind of information about the continuing audio adventures based on the series. But nobody has done this for the continuing series' of novels. Until now...

The New Adventures series of novels were published by Virgin Books between 1991 and 1996, and picked up the Doctor's story where the TV series finished. There were 61 books in all, 60 featuring the seventh Doctor, as portrayed by Sylvester McCoy, and one featuring the eighth Doctor, as portrayed by Paul McGann in the 1996 Doctor Who telemovie. These novels are now, sadly, out of print and many of them are difficult to get hold of. Fortunately, the BBC have begun publishing some of them as e-books.

If you need to read up on what the various categories mean, I've written a guide to Discontinuity. Otherwise, on with the show:

Timewyrm: Genesys Timewyrm: Exodus Timewyrm: Apocalypse
Timewyrm: Revelation Cat's Cradle: Time's Crucible Cat's Cradle: Warhead
Cat's Cradle: Witchmark Nightshade Love and War
Transit The Highest Science The Pit
Deceit Lucifer Rising White Darkness
Shadowmind Birthright Iceberg
Blood Heat The Dimension Riders The Left-Handed Hummingbird
Conundrum No Future Tragedy Day
Legacy Theatre of War All-Consuming Fire
Blood Harvest Strange England First Frontier
St Anthony's Fire Falls the Shadow Parasite
Warlock Set Piece Infinite Requiem
Sanctuary Human Nature Original Sin
Sky Pirates! Zamper Toy Soldiers
Head Games The Also People Shakedown
Just War Warchild SLEEPY
Death and Diplomacy Happy Endings GodEngine
Christmas on a Rational Planet Return of the Living Dad The Death of Art
Damaged Goods So Vile a Sin Bad Therapy
Eternity Weeps The Room With No Doors Lungbarrow
The Dying Days    
You visited the Whoniverse at 6:22 pm BST on Friday 7th July 2006