The Whoniverse
Home Discontinuity UNIT Files Newbies Guide History Biography Reviews Characters Forum Links

The Discontinuity Guide to the Doctor Who Novels

 - Chapter title in Love and War

In 1995, Paul Cornell, Martin Day, and Keith Topping published The Discontinuity Guide, a guide to all sorts of things about the TV series Doctor Who. Following this, an excellent website called The DiscContinuity Guide has provided the same kind of information about the continuing audio adventures based on the series. But nobody has done this for the continuing series' of novels. Until now...

There have been a couple of distinct series of official Doctor Who short story collections. The first was Virgin Books' Decalog series, which have three volumes by the time the BBC took back the license. They then produced two more Decalogs. Decalog 4 featured the family history of Roz Forrester, the Doctor's companion in the New Adventures, and Decalog 5 had one story featuring Benny, another companion from the New Adventures and nine generic sci-fi stories with no Who connection. After taking back the license. the BBC produced three Short Trips collections. More recently, Big Finish have taken up the Short Trips title. There have also been several charity anthologies produced. However, I am not currently intending to feature any of these in the guide.

The Decalogs

Decalog 2: Lost Property
Decalog 3: Consequences
Decalog 4: Re:Generations
Decalog 5: Wonders

Short Trips Series

Short Trips
More Short Trips
Short Trips and Side Steps
Short Trips: Zodiac
Short Trips: Companions
Short Trips: A Universe of Terrors
Short Trips: The Muses
Short Trips: Steel Skies
Short Trips: Past Tense
Short Trips: Life Science
Short Trips: Repercussions
Short Trips: Monsters
Short Trips: 2040
Short Trips: A Christmas Treasury
You visited the Whoniverse at 3:44 am BST on Wednesday 20th September 2006